Search this blog

Friday, 30 January 2015

✍ Crazy Love You - Lisa Unger

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
Published by Touchstone Publishing
Number of pages: 64
My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★  I really liked it
About the author

"Falling in love can feel like a dream…or a living nightmare.

Darkness has a way of creeping up when Ian is with Priss. Even when they were kids, playing in the woods of their small Upstate New York town, he could feel it. Still, Priss was his best friend, his salvation from the bullies who called him “loser” and “fatboy”…and from his family’s deadly secrets.

Now that they’ve both escaped to New York City, Ian no longer inhabits the tortured shell of his childhood. He is a talented and successful graphic novelist, and Priss…Priss is still trouble. The booze, the drugs, the sex—Ian is growing tired of late nights together trying to keep the past at bay. Especially now that he’s met sweet, beautiful Megan, whose love makes him want to change for the better. But Priss doesn’t like change. Change makes her angry. And when Priss is angry, terrible things begin to happen…"

✍ The Three Sisters: A Hollows Short Story [3] - Lisa Unger

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
Published by Gallery Books
Number of pages: 76
My rating:  ★ ★ ★  I liked it
About the author

"The final e-short in a thrilling mini-series about a psychic medium, from award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Lisa Unger.

When Eloise’s granddaughter, twenty-year-old Finley, comes to live with her, Eloise’s abilities start to change—things seem to be getting easier. Her load is lighter, and rather than chasing down people she needs, they are coming to her. She teams up with detective Jones Cooper to help a desperate father bring his daughter’s killer to justice. Meanwhile, Finley, who is developing gifts of her own, has bigger problems than she’s willing to admit. Will Eloise help Finley and others see the difference between justice and revenge, or will things spiral out of control first?"

Saturday, 24 January 2015

✍ Can't Find My Way Home - Carlene Thompson

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
Published by Severn House
Number of pages: 280
My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★  I really liked it

"Brynn Wilder must confront a dark and dangerous walk back into her traumatic past

Eighteen years ago, twelve-year-old Brynn Wilder’s life changed forever when her father and a teenage girl were severely injured in a brutal attack in the woods.

Jonah Wilder died, but fifteen-year-old Tessa Cavanaugh survived to tell the world about her horrific ordeal, and Brynn’s devoted father was soon identified as the infamous Genessa Point serial killer. Brynn and her family fled the town, and Brynn swore never to return.

But the scars of the past won’t heal, and when Brynn’s tormented brother, Mark, goes back to Genessa Point only to suddenly disappear after telling a friend he has new information about his father’s death, Brynn resolves to find him.

She may not want to confront her traumatic past, but a series of creepy and menacing incidents show that someone is determined Brynn won’t escape it. Can she find Mark and uncover the truth about their father’s death?"

Monday, 19 January 2015

✍ Loose Corset: Dice and Debauchery [1] - Christine Rains

Genre: Erotic Romance
Published by Ellora's Cave Publishing Inc
Number of pages: 64
My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★  I really liked it

"A weekend away at a convention is exactly what overworked student Morgan needs. Dressed as her character from her favorite online game, Morgan is braced—seriously, could her corset be tighter?—to meet the other players. As Lady Gyrfalcon, she’s ready for everything—except her intense attraction to Dean. A clandestine meeting in the hallway of the hotel and Morgan’s corset is looser but now she can’t breathe for entirely different reasons.

Utterly charmed, Morgan decides to roll the dice and indulge in a fantasy-worthy weekend of sexy roleplaying, scorching sex and life-altering orgasms. Still, through it all Morgan is too smart to believe the chemistry constantly stripping her of costumes and control can last more than the length of the convention. But if she wants to keep a relationship so intense she thought it only existed in fiction, she’s going to have to let go of her

Sunday, 18 January 2015

✍ The Deep - Nick Cutter

Genre: Horror
Published by Headline and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
Number of pages: 401
My rating: ★ ★ ★  I liked it

"Nick Cutter is bringing classic horror kicking and screaming back to life - The Deep will thrill anyone who loved The Abyss or Alien.

A plague is destroying the world's population. The 'Gets makes people forget. First it's the small things, like where you left your keys ... then the not-so-small things, like how to drive. And finally your body forgets how to live.

But now an unknown substance with extraordinary power to heal has been discovered in the depths of the Pacific Ocean. Nicknamed ambrosia, it might just be the miracle cure the world has been praying for.

A research lab has been established eight miles below the sea's surface, but all contact with the team has been lost. Dr Luke Nelson's brother is down
there and as desperation for a cure outweighs common sense, he agrees to descend through the lightless fathoms ... perhaps to face an evil blacker than anything he could have imagined."

Thursday, 15 January 2015

Reading List [15-02] - Febuary 2015

These are the titles that are due for publication in Febuary 2015 which have caught our eye.

In the Woods: A Harper Jennings Thriller
Can't Find My Way Home
Burnt Paper Sky
Masters of Blood and Bone
The Unexpected Consequences of Love
In Search of Lost Dragons
Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Tales
Butterfly Kills: A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery
The Forgotten Girls
Crazy Love You
Three Twisted Stories
Half the World
The Last Quarrel: Episode 2
Ordinary Mayhem
Cognac Conspiracies
The Venus Trap
The Life I Left Behind
Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery
The Curse Servant

Tuesday, 13 January 2015

✍ Apprehended - Jan Burke

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
Published by Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
Number of pages: 100
My rating: ★ ★ ☆   I kind of liked it

"From the New York Times bestselling suspense author Jan Burke comes a brand-new e-short story with the added bonus of three short stories from the Eighteen anthology.

Apprehended is a mini-anthology containing a brand new short story from Jan Burke: "The Unacknowledged," which features the fan-favorite investigative reporter Irene Kelly, back in her journalism school days. Also included are three short stories from the previously published Eighteen: "Why Tonight," "A Fine Set of Teeth," and "A Man of My Stature.""

Apprehended was my very first taste of Jan Burke's crime fiction, author of the Irene Kelly Mysteries series.

Sunday, 11 January 2015

✍ The Crooked House - Christobel Kent

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers, Psychological Suspense
Published by Little, Brown Book Group UK
Number of pages: 369
My rating: ★ ★  It was OK/span>

"A stunning, dark and suspenseful psychological thriller that follows one woman's search for the truth about her tragic family history; perfect for fans of The Silent Wife and Apple Tree Yard.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties, no home, a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. She's a nobody; she has no-one and that's how she wants it. 

But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme Grace, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote and dilapidated house on the edge of a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought. 

Then one night a terrible thing happened in the crooked house, a nightmare of violence out of 
which Alison emerged the only witness and sole survivor and from which she has been running ever since. Only when she meets academic Paul Bartlett does Alison realise that if she's to have any chance of happiness, she has to return to her old life and confront the darkness that worked its way inside her family and has pursued her ever since.

Monday, 5 January 2015

✍ Sparrow 59: The Sleepers' Coalition [1] - Devon Ashley

Genre: New Adult, Mystery & Thrillers
Published by Devon Ashley
Number of pages: 234
My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★  I really liked it

"The Bourne Identity meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith for the new adult crowd. 

Members of the CIA’s specialized team Sparrow, who investigate specifically into black market deals involving stolen medical research, were all murdered in one quick sweep. Drew and Samantha, team five-nine, have been more than just partners since their academy training days. Safeguarding their secret tryst from everyone in their professional lives, they trust no one but themselves. But when Samantha finds herself suspiciously spared and Drew missing, she doesn’t want to believe what the CIA claims – that Drew is not only alive and has defected from their organization, but is facilitating the deaths of prominent research developers worldwide. Now the only member of Sparrow who hasn’t been killed off,

Thursday, 1 January 2015

✍ Home for the Howlidays: A Montana Wolves holiday novella - Chloe Cole

Genre: Erotic Romance, Paranormal Romance
Published by Frog Prints Publishing
Number of pages: 50
My rating: ★ ★ ★  I liked it

"Featured in the New York Times bestselling anthology, Kiss of Christmas Magic!

Nicklaus Maslov left Stone Creek, Montana, in his rear–view mirror three years ago and never planned to go back. His pack’s ways are antiquated, and the girl he loves will never be his. But when his father, the pack’s alpha, sends him an urgent message, he can’t deny the protective instinct drawing him back to his hometown, or the lure of the one that got away.

Petra Stevens has had her heart stomped on once and vows it will never happen again. When her former lover and packmate returns to Stone Creek, all the rage and hurt she felt when he’d left comes bubbling to the surface…along with other feelings she can’t control. If she can just avoid him while he’s in town, things will be fine. But fate has other plans…

✍ A Zombie Christmas - Anthony Renfro

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Published by Anthony Renfro
Number of pages: 11
My rating: ★ ★   I kind of liked it

"This short story is about three men who risk life and limb in a Zombie Apocalypse to bring happiness to surviving kids on Christmas morning."

A Zombie Christmas is a feel-good short story, depicting an attempt to bring back some community spirit and hope to the local children, following a zombie apocalypse.

This is not a horror story. No guts, no gore.

Well written and pleasant, with unusual cheeky takes on the zombies.