Translate

Search this blog

Friday, 24 November 2017

☀☄ One Red Bastard: Robert Chow [3] - Ed Lin

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for One Red Bastard, a Noir Mystery by (first published 24 April 2012; this new edition , Witness Impulse, 289 pages).

This is the third book in the Robert Chow series.

Don't miss our interview with author Ed Lin.

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and the excerpt below.

Author Ed Lin will be awarding a small incense box with a Chinese opera mask & Playlist to five randomly drawn winners via Rafflecopter during the tour.   Please do take part: comment on our post and follow the tour where you will be able to read other excerpts (☀), interviews (ℚ), reviews (✍) and guest blog posts (✉).


|| Synopsis || Trailer || Teaser: Excerpt || The Series || Author Q&A || About the Author || Giveaway & Tour Stops ||

Synopsis

In this thrilling sequel to the highly acclaimed Snakes Can’t Run, detective Robert Chow must wrestle with his own morality to solve a murder, set against the backdrop of gritty Chinatown following the Vietnam War.

It’s the fall of 1976, and New York’s Chinatown is in turmoil over news that Mao’s daughter is seeking asylum in America. Vietnam vet Robert Chow is now a detective-in-training, and he is thrilled when his girlfriend, Lonnie, scores a once-in-a-lifetime interview with the Chinese representative of Mao’s daughter. But hours after their meeting, the man is found dead.

Lonnie, the last person to see him alive, is the main suspect. The police are restless to close the case, and as Lonnie is subjected to increasing amounts of intimidation, Robert is tempted to reach into his own bag of dirty tricks to protect her.

Will Chow stay on the right side of the law, or will his loyalty to Lonnie provoke him to turn to darker methods? Find out in this exciting and fast-paced mystery, set in one of New York’s most fascinating neighborhoods . . .

Teaser: Excerpt

     The woman was standing in a pool of wet ashes, her hands at her sides. She was about five seven but that was with heels on. Her thick black hair cascaded over her ears and shoulders, and she did something to it to make it shiny. A light brown coat stopped above a skirt that stopped midway down two taut thighs in stockings with a dull glow.
     I smirked because I was sure that she had spent some time thinking about how she wanted to look from the rear. To men.
     But this was no time for amusement. I came in close to her forehead and growled under my breath, “Barbara, what the hell are you doing here!”
     When she turned around I saw my head and torso in her two black, sparkling eyes. Her face was long and not too narrow and came down to a chin that fairy princesses had. Her red lips, usually curved like a little blossom, were pulled taut into a wide smile.
     She grabbed my arm and said, “Robert!”
     “This is a crime scene! Now let’s get out of this thing!”
     “I’m so sorry!”
     She continued to hold on to me as we stepped over the tape together, matching leg for leg.. I had lost part of my mind in Nam, but she had lost a lot more. Barbara used to be the prettiest girl in Chinatown. Now she was its prettiest widow.
     “You know anything about the fire, Barbara?” I looked into her face. There was lightning behind her dark eyes.
     “No. I don’t. Can we stop whispering now?”
     “Well, I guess it doesn’t matter at this point,” I said in full voice.
     “Look, I didn’t mean any harm. I just had to see the place up close. Artie Yee published my first story, back when I was in grade school.”
     “I didn’t know about that.”
     “I brought it into school to show everybody. Don’t you remember?”
     “How am I supposed to remember that one thing? You always had something to show off in school. If it wasn’t a story you wrote, it’d be a story about you.”
     She snorted.
     “Did you stay in touch with Artie over the years?” I asked.
     “I’d run into him from time to time.”
     “Were the two of you friends?”
     “Oh, no, no. I learned to keep my distance from that one. Did you know that he asked me to marry him when I turned eighteen?”
     “He wasn’t much better looking back then, was he?”
     “He looked like a younger walrus.”
     “You’re not enemies with Artie, though, are you?”
     “I’m not one of them, but he has many enemies,” she said. “You know that.”
     “He did his part in pissing off all areas of Chinatown.”
     “Artie doesn’t respect authority. That’s a good thing for a journalist.”
     “Then how come you didn’t keep writing for him?”
     “Artie doesn’t respect women.” She shivered and then slapped my arm. “I heard Paul got into that program at Columbia.”
     “Thanks to you,” I said.
     “Thanks in part to me, anyway.” She paused. “Doesn’t that mean you’ll take me to dinner?”
     “Maybe Paul should.”
     “Get serious. Actually, maybe Paul should come and meet my youngest sister. You know she’s up at Columbia because she got into Barnard early. Maybe she should stick to Chinatown boys, like I should have.”
     “Hey, Barbara, let’s talk about this later. I have to get back to work here.”
     “You’re going to call me?”
     “I’ll get in touch.”
     She walked off and I returned to my post.
     Years ago, Barbara and her three younger sisters were the four little princesses of Chinatown. She liked to say that her parents never did get that son, but the truth was her parents learned to love all their daughters to death. They all had beauty and smarts, and because of that you knew they’d get out of Chinatown and never come back.
     But Barbara did return after her husband was killed in Khe Sanh. The oldest, the prettiest, and the smartest of the sisters, she moved back alone into their old family home to find some comfort, I guess.
     There was a brief period when I thought she was the love of my life, but it was a while ago and it ended embarrassingly enough. Thinking about it again put me in a bad mood.
     “Hello Sunshine,” said Vandyne.
     “It was Barbara,” I said.
     “Oh! What the hell was she doing there?”
     “She wanted to see the place up close. Artie published one of her stories back when she was a smart, little girl.”
     “Seriously, though, could she have had anything at all to do with this?”
     “Her? No way, man!”
     “Do you know that for sure?”
     “Yes,” I said. “I would bet my soul on it.”

One Red Bastard
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads

The Series: Robert Chow

|| [1] || [2] ||

Click on the book cover to Look Inside the book on Amazon and read an excerpt.


This is a Bust [1]


This Is a Bust, the second novel by award-winning author Ed Lin, turns the conventions of hard-boiled pulp stories on their head by exploring the unexotic and very real complexities of New York City's Chinatown, circa 1976, through the eyes of a Chinese-American cop.

A Vietnam vet and an alcoholic, Robert Chow's troubles are compounded by the fact that he's basically community-relations window-dressing for the NYPD: he's the only Chinese American on the Chinatown beat, and the only police officer who can speak Cantonese, but he's never assigned anything more challenging than appearances at store openings or community events.

Chow is willing to stuff down his feelings and hang tight for a promotion to the detective track, despite the community unrest that begins to roil around him. But when his superiors remain indifferent to an old Chinese woman's death, he is forced to take matters into his own hands.

This Is a Bust is at once a murder mystery, a noir homage and a devastating, uniquely nuanced portrait of a neighborhood in flux, stuck between old rivalries and youthful idealism.

[Published 1 June 2007, 225 pages]

Snakes Can't Run [2]


This epic of Chinatown Noir is the riveting sequel to This Is a Bust

Set in New York City in 1976, Snakes Can’t Run finds NYPD detective Robert Chow still haunted by the horrors of his past and relegated to tedious undercover work.

When the bodies of two undocumented Chinese men are found under the Brooklyn Bridge underpass, Chow is drawn into the case.

Most of the officers in his precinct are concerned with a terrorist group targeting the police, but Chow’s investigation puts him on the trail of a ring of ruthless human smugglers who call themselves the snakeheads.

As Chow gets closer to solving the murder, dangerous truths about his own family’s past begin to emerge.

Steeped in retro urban attitude, and ripe with commentary on minorities’ roles in American society, this gritty procedural will appeal to fans of George Pelecanos and S.J. Rozan.

[Published 30 March 2010, 336 pages]

About the Author

Ed Lin, a native New Yorker of Taiwanese and Chinese descent, is the first author to win three Asian American Literary Awards and is an all-around standup kinda guy.

His books include Waylaid and This Is a Bust, both published by Kaya Press in 2002 and 2007, respectively. Snakes Can't Run and One Red Bastard, which both continue the story of Robert Chow set in This Is a Bust, were published by Minotaur Books.

His latest book, Ghost Month, a Taipei-based mystery, was published by Soho Crime in July 2014.

Lin lives in Brooklyn with his wife, actress Cindy Cheung, and son.

Follow Ed Lin:

Visit the author's blog Visit the author's website Visit the author on Facebook Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on LinkedIn Visit the author on their Amazon page Visit the author on GoodReads Visit the author on YouTube

Giveaway and Tour Stops

Enter to win one of five small incense box with a Chinese opera mask & Playlist – a Rafflecopter giveaway
Remember to comment to win!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow One Red Bastard's tour at:


No comments:

Post a Comment